justasimplenightingale

This blog contains nightingale's innermost thoughts and emotions about joy & sorrow, loyalty & betrayal, hope & despair, faith & doubt, and most of all, about love & loss.

No Regrets

Leave a comment

Fell in love, heart torn into pieces
Learnt to forget all bad memories
Became guarded, too emotionless
Mouth muted, even became speechless

But came a li’l bird unexpected
Unafraid, dauntless, and kind-hearted
Flying above, watching me love I buried
Eyes filled with warmth, I see him avid

It sees through my eyes a sadness that’s aging
It speaks to me about hope and forgiving
“Be not afraid, love again, stop pretending
Spread your wings, fly high with me unfaltering”

I rose, wobbled, I’m learning to walk
Flapped my wings, I’m beginning to talk
I quavered, trembled, “please be my rock?”
Reached for my wing, “you don’t have to knock”

A nightingale, it is, just like me
Poetry and rhymes, we sing freely
A reflection of me, to love’s easy
Delicate and fragile, he is me

But thousands of miles, he has travelled
Mountains and oceans, he’s exhausted
Could carry on no longer, he pointed
He flew away, I was dumbfounded

He’s gone just like that, and I don’t know why
Slumped on the ground, not even a goodbye
This familiar feeling, the end draws nigh
I gazed blankly to the sky, I did cry

My nightingale is gone whom I just met
Should I whimper? Should I wail? Should I fret?
What are these tears for? Do I love him yet?
I think I do, this I would never regret

Leave a Reply

